THIS HAPPENED TO ME

Are You a Sun Worshipper?

Just because my original home is in a tropical country does not mean I love to soak in the sun

Josephine Crispin
4 min readOct 11, 2024

--

My daughter shielding herself from the sun; photo with her permission

I find it amusing that some Europeans assume that people who are originally from tropical regions love the sun. People, like me, for example.

Let me correct those who think that brown-skinned Asians are enamoured with blazing, hot weather, with temperature whereby roads melted and train tracks buckled at around 30°C (or 86°F) degrees in Europe.

The train tracks buckling is, of course, in relation to the metal rails being hotter by around 20°C than the actual air temperature. This is what causes the tracks to expand and to potentially buckle.

But this is not the point of this piece. Roads and rails cannot protect themselves from the punishing heat of the sun in summer, but people can. Somehow. By using an umbrella.

Looking for a shade while others soak themselves in sun

The first time I experienced being looked at by people who, judging by their facial expressions, thought that I was weird was in Auckland.

It was my first summer in New Zealand, the temperature was 24°C. Cool in the shade, hot in the…

--

--

Josephine Crispin

Writes about writing, nature, animals, the environment, social issues and spirituality. Editor and published author of romance novellas amongst other genres.